It’s Coming ‘Round Christmas

Mark Twain said that “twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.”

George Saunders told the Syracuse class of ’13 that what he regrets most in his life “are failures of kindness.”

I’m starting to regret starting this post with a quote. I think it’s been done…

Anyway.

Last year around the holidays there was this thing going around the Internet where people would document 26 acts of kindness they had committed- one for each of the children and educators killed at Sandy Hook Elementary School. I loved the idea of countering the horror with kindness, but 26 always sat a little uneasy with me. 28 people lost their lives that day in Connecticut. I know- the other two were the killer and his mother, but my goodness, wouldn’t you want to counter that with even MORE kindness? If you feel that the system or his mental issues or his family failed that boy and his mother or if you feel that they are evil and solely responsible for the horror, it seems that either way, two more acts of kindness would help bring the universe back into order.

Or, you know, because 28 kind acts is better than 26. Or maybe don’t stop there. I just know that I don’t want to regret not being kind and so…

I’m keeping track of ideas here. If you have other suggestions or come across any great acts of kindness (big or small), share them with me, will ya? I’d like to have a vast resource to pull from. OK THANKS.

One thought on “It’s Coming ‘Round Christmas

Leave a Reply

